Carb Spacers?
Hey guys,

I was wondering what your thoughts were on carb spacers. I know they aren't original and some of you guys take pride in that which I have no problem with. I have heard different things about them and that they may not add horse power per say they make things easier for the engine by allowing more room for the fuel air mixture process and lots of other stuff I sorta understand, but could easily be being fed bull. I have also heard they don't really do diddly. So whatcha think about them?

T
Sorry Todd,

All I know is the afore mentioned hearsay.

It does appear to be documented that they will help keep the carburetor cooler. (heat sink etc.)

I'm sure Jack has some experience that he can lend to the equation.

Earlier today I was reading up on throttle body spacers. "enhance power and fuel efficiency" (10-15% torque, 8% economy ..) for my V-10.

Yeah - don't know that I swallow that.
Hey Todd,

I have some experience with using a carb spacer. I ended up installing one on my first Mustang as I was having problems with vapor lock or fuel evaporation causing hard starts when the motor was hot. The fix was installing a 1/2" carb spacer and it solved the problem immediately. As far as adding more power I have read that it does add some top end to the motor but that is not the reason I installed one. I ended up installing a spacer on my current project for the same reason, to avoid vapor lock issues, not for performance.

Heres some more info:

http://www.hotrod.com/techarticles/engin...r_spacers/