Mach 1 Club
73 Grande Restoration - Printable Version

+- Mach 1 Club (https://mach1club.com)
+-- Forum: Mach 1 Club Member Area (https://mach1club.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: SHOWCASE & RESTORATION - MEMBERS PROJECTS (https://mach1club.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=172)
+--- Thread: 73 Grande Restoration (/showthread.php?tid=6672)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

73 Grande Restoration - taby448 - 01-27-2018

I just got a 73 Grand the other day. I inherited it from my grandmother, who passed away sadly.
My end goal is to make the car look stock again, Key word LOOK. The fun can be under the hood. but I have a-lot of body work and headaches trying to figure out whats wrong with the car and why it wont start.

First off, the car has been sitting for upwards to 4-5 years, so I'm not going to be the idiot who blows up the engine (351c) trying to start it just to "Test" it.
I'm not really good with cars, and when I look under the hood a lot of it looks foreign to me still, so this sounds like a fun project.
[attachment=12357][attachment=12356][attachment=12355][attachment=12354][attachment=12352]

RE: 73 Grande Restoration - JTS71 Mach1 - 01-27-2018

Welcome Taby 448 

Not a bad looking Mustang, looks to be in very great shape for a 45 year old car. After sitting for 4 or 5 years. I would suggest cleaning the fuel tank and rebuilding the carburetor would be the first order of business. I'm assuming that the engine does at least turn over? Fresh oil and a general check over of the Ignition system. Then it shouldn't be to eventful from there. Good Luck, any problems give us a shot. Lots of Good people, and lots of knowledge. Collectively we can move mountains. Jump in anytime. Welcome

JTS 71 Mach1

RE: 73 Grande Restoration - Mustangmike - 01-28-2018